## **Annual General Meeting**

Tuesday, December 12, 1972



Dr. Francis H. Fox (r.) handing gavel to Dr. Ben Harrington.

The Annual General Meeting of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners was held at the Pfister Hotel, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, on Tuesday, December 12, 1972, immediately following the noon luncheon. Dr. Francis A. Fox presided.

Dr. Harold E. Amstutz, Executive Secretary-Treasurer, presented the financial report for the year ending December 31, 1971. He stated that 926 had registered at the convention.

Dr. Samuel Hutchins III, exhibits chairman, reported an income of \$12,300 from exhibits.

Dr. Eric Williams reported estimated costs of \$8,172.50 for publishing the 1972 Bovine Practitioner and an advertising income of \$4,575.00. A charge of \$2.00 will be made to non-veterinarians for each issue of The Bovine Practitioner.

The Proceedings of the 1972 convention will be published.

Dr. John Herrick discussed continuing education and questioned strong support of district meetings. He stated that districts need a source book for continuing education and encouraged the AABP participation in developing such a book. He encouraged a combination of the large animal (bovine section) of AVMA meetings. Dr. Herrick emphasized the importance of *The Bovine Practitioner* to the Association.

A membership dues increase of \$10.00 per year, making the annual dues \$25.00 per annum, was unanimously passed by the 400 members present. (After examining the financial status following the Convention, the Executive Committee unanimously agreed to postpone the increase in dues for 1973.)

The following officers were elected for 1973: President, Dr. Ben Harrington, Raleigh, North Carolina; President-Elect, Dr. L. Mac Cropsey, Golden, Colorado; Vice-President, Dr. Vernon L. Tharp, Columbus, Ohio; Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Harold E. Amstutz, West Lafayette, Indiana; AVMA Delegate, Dr. Maurice L. Weldy, Wakarusa, Indiana, Dr. Harold E. Amstutz (alternate).

Dr. Leland Allenstein was nominated as the AABP candidate for the AVMA Council on Biological and Therapeutic Agents.

The President complimented Dr. Allenstein and his hard working committee for their excellent preparations for the Convention.

The results of the election of directors were announced as follows:

District 1: Dr. Sam Hutchins, III, South Barre, Vermont.

District IV: Dr. Glen Hoffsis, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

District VII: Dr. John Noordsy, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas.

District X: Dr. Robert Harris, Turlock, California. District XII: Dr. Otto Radostits, Western College of Veterinary Medicine, Saskatoon, Sask., Canada.

## **Future AABP Conventions**

1973: Sheraton-Fort Worth Hotel, For Worth, Texas, December 3, 4 and 5.

1974: Sheraton Motor Hotel, Columbus, Ohio, December 9, 10 and 11.

1975: Atlanta, Georgia (Hotel and Date to be Announced).