Welcoming Reception

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Sponsored by **Bayer Animal Health**, the welcoming reception for the 45th Annual AABP Conference was held as the official event to kick-off the week's activities. Members of the AABP Program Committee, local veterinarians, representatives from eastern Canada and event planners were present to answer questions.













"Just Desserts" Reception

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Mountains of mouth-watering, enticing desserts, compliments of **Merial**, were served after the Welcoming Reception on Wednesday evening. This event provided further opportunity to continue the feast and fellowship well into the evening. Thanks to **Merial** for sponsoring the event.













SPRING 2013 vii

"Come Join Us" for Dinner Buffet Reception and Opening Ceremony

Thursday, September 20, 2012 Montreal, Quebec, Canada

AABP registrants were treated to excellent food in the exhibit area, **courtesy of all exhibitors**, prior to gathering for the Opening Ceremony and Practice Tips. Winners of the Amstutz Scholarships, Merck Animal Health Scholarships, and AABP Foundation—Cargill Animal Nutrition Scholarships were recognized during the Opening Ceremony. Appreciation plaques to retiring committee chairs and the retiring directors were also presented.













 $AABP\ President-elect\ Dr.\ Nigel\ Cook\ presides\ over\ the\ Opening\ Ceremonies.$



Dr. David Hudson (left) as he was presented the Dr. Bruce Wren Continuing Education Award by Dr. Bill Swafford.



Dr. Gatz Riddell (left) presented appreciation plaques to retiring directors Dr. Bob Cloninger from District II, Dr. Glen Johnson from District V, and Dr. Glenn Rogers, who reresented District VIII.



Dr. Scott Nordstrom (center) with the Merck Animal Health Scholarship Winners (l-r) Henry Reinart, Rebecca Domenigoni, Emily Waggoner, Lindley Reilly, J. Oliver Irons, Grant Fontenot, Lesley Kirschten Liane, and Levi Smith.



Dr. Gatz Riddell (left) presented an appreciation plaque to retiring Committee Chair Dr. Jonathan Townsend. Not pictured was retiting Committee Chair Dr. Danelle Bickett-Weddle.



The second annual AABP Foundation-Cargill Animal Nutrition Scholarships were awarded to (l-r) Dusti Small, Amanda Wagner, Emily Waggoner, Joel Anderson, Jared Ranly, and Travis Allen. Presenting the awards was Dr. Charles Gardner, Cargill Animal Nutrition.



Dr. Jim Brett (center) is pictured with Jenna Bayne and Andrew Lovelady, two of the four winners of the 2012 AABP Research Assistantships.