## AABP–Amstutz Scholarships Presented at the 2012 AABP Conference in Montreal



Pictured are (l-r) Tom Cully, Matthew Mundy, Tracy Quirk, Dr. Jim Floyd, Andrea Eilenfeld, Abigail Wirt, Henry Reinart, and Ryan Rademacher.

During the Opening Ceremonies at the 2012 AABP meeting in Montreal, Quebec, nine outstanding third year veterinary students were each awarded \$7,500 Amstutz Scholarships from the Amstutz Scholarship Fund. These students were selected by the AABP-Amstutz Scholarship Committee from 53 exceptional applicants from 29 different North American Veterinary Schools. This brings the total number of scholarships awarded to 241 for a total of over \$550,000 since started in 1996. The sources of funds for these awards are individual AABP member contributions and a generous contribution of \$30,000 from the Eli Lilly Foundation through Elanco Animal Health. In addition, the Amstutz Committee held silent and live auctions during this year's meeting, which raised an additional \$27,500 for the scholarship fund. The Amstutz Scholarship Committee would like to thank everyone for their generous support of this important and worthwhile program.

The recipients of the 2012 AABP–Amstutz scholarships and their respective schools were:

Kristen Clenney Tom Cully Andrea Eilenfeld

University of Missouri Cornell University The Ohio State University Matthew Mundy Tracy Quirk Ryan Rademacher Henry Reinart Katrina Thompson Abigail Wirt Mississippi State University Washington State University Oregon State University Michigan State University University of California-Davis University of Minnesota

The members of the Amstutz Scholarship Committee for 2013 are:

Dr. Harold Amstutz – Sustaining member and individual for whom the award is named

Dr. James Floyd (Chair)

Dr. James Brett (Vice Chair)

Dr. William Burdett

Dr. John Campbell

Dr. Art Donovan

Dr. Matthew Edmonds

Dr. Gregory Edwards

Dr. Mark Fox

Dr. Jennifer Hatcher

Dr. Douglas Hostetler

Dr. Billy Myers

## AABP-Amstutz Scholarship Gold Level Donors



Eight donors to the AABP-Amstutz Scholarship fund attained Gold Level Donor status in 2012. Two of the honored donors are pictured with Dr. Jim Floyd (left), Dr. Mark Thomas and Dr. Glen Johnson.

During the Opening Ceremonies at the 2012 AABP meeting in Montreal, Quebec, AABP and the Amstutz Scholarship Committee recognized eight new Gold Level scholarship fund donors. The Gold Level Donor recognition identifies individuals who have contributed at least \$1,000.00 to the scholarship fund.

Recognition includes the awarding of a unique 10K gold lapel pin with the AABP logo in the center surrounded by a black band with the words *AABP-Amstutz Scholarship Donor*. The newest members of the Gold Pin Club are:

Dr. Glen T. Johnson, Reedsburg, WI

Dr. Jeffrey Lakritz, Columbus, OH

Dr. James D. Lillard Jr., Louisville, TN

Dr. Eden Myers, Mt. Sternling, KY

Dr. Laura B. Raymond, Adams, NY

Dr. Kelly Still Brooks, Raeford, NC

Dr. Mark J. Thomas, Carthage, NY

Dr. Richard Wilkes, Chesterfield, VA

Including these recipients, AABP has now recognized a total of 68 Gold Level Donors. AABP and the Amstutz Scholarship Committee wishes to express our deepest gratitude to the generous donations of all of our members, and especially those recognized as Gold Donors.

The AABP-Amstutz Scholarship program was established 16 years ago to help support the education of worthy veterinary students who are interested in bovine medicine. The AABP wants to identify all Gold Level qualifying members as well as encourage new contributors to this support milestone. If you would like to make a contribution to the AABP Amstutz—Scholarship Fund, please contact the AABP office.

## **AABP Student Reception**

Thursday, September 20, 2012 Montreal, Quebec, Canada

For the 18th year, the AABP Board of Directors and **Elanco Animal Health** hosted a reception for all student AABP members at the annual conference.











