1990 23rd Annual Convention Indianapolis, Indiana September 13–16

Team up in Indy

The ladies were happy!—no more annual meetings so close to Christmas! September from now on.

The 23rd Annual Convention was unique in that, for the first time, the AABP teamed up with the National Mastitis Council to feature an International Mastitis Symposium. The Dairy Sessions ran throughout the Convention featuring international speakers discussing resistance mechanisms, mastitis control in heifers and dry cows, environmental mastitis advances in milking hygiene and milking systems, therapy, diagnostics, mastitis monitoring, economics and case histories. Concurrently a group of outstanding beef and general sessions were presented.

Featuring "Hoosier Hospitality," the Opening Ceremony was off to a rousing start with the traditional social hour followed by snacks, drinks, ice cream and the famous "Hoosier Ribeye" sandwiches grilled by members of the Indiana Cattlemen's Association. A highlight was the presentation to Dr. Harold Amstutz the Sagamore-of-the-Wabash Award, the highest a resident of Indiana can receive from the State, by Gregory Finch, Deputy Commissioner for Agriculture. After the customary introductions and some award presentations, a large audience was entertained by the keynote speaker, Mr. Orion Samuelson, known nationally for his familiar voice on 300 radio stations with the National Farm Report and his TV U.S. Farm Report. (*Tickets were now available in the registration packets for all registrants and exhibits, for lunch in the exhibits area on Friday and Saturday.*) (Ladies had their own functions.)

There were several new seminars with increasing emphasis on embryo transfer, veal calf health and management. For the spouses, there was a seminar on *Help! I'm Parenting my Parents!* and *Reagan White House Breakfast*.

Tours included the City of Indianapolis and a bus trip around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway; Brown County - Nashville, IN, and Corner Prairie Farm. The Annual Banquet featured Hoosier Hoedown Hospitality at the Indiana Roof Ballroom. During the luscious roast beef dinner, entertainment was provided by a chamber music trio from the Indiana University Music Department; followed by the "Singing Hoosiers" from Indiana University. A wonderful evening was concluded with the audience participating in the rousing Hoosier square dance.

Two **AABP Research Awards** were presented, in view of the number of high quality proposals submitted. Dr. Terry Engelken, Kansas State University, received an award for his research proposal, "The use of pelvic index and reproductive tract score as a predictor of pregnancy rates in beef heifers." Dr. Mark Slana, University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada presented the proposal, "the study of growth in height, weight and pelvic size with reproductive performance, calving ease and productivity in dairy replacement heifers."

President Tom Furhmann presided over the Annual Business and Awards Luncheon Meeting. Executive Vice-President Harold Amstutz reported a total attendance of 1,738 which was the highest to date. He added that 481 new members were aboard; we also had 98 foreign members. Outgoing Continuing Education Liaison Larry Hutchinson was recognized for his loyal service, while outgoing Director Gordon Atkins received a Director's plaque.

Dr. Eli Mayer, Vice-President, World Buiatrics Association and the World Veterinary Association, brought greetings; while NMC President Bill Christ and AVMA Executive Board chairman Leon Russell also addressed the membership.

Officers for 1990-91

President: Dr. David McClary President-Elect: Dr. Gordon Atkins Vice President: Dr. Darrel Johnson

Before installing Dr. McClary as the new President, Dr. Fuhrmann addressed the meeting (printed in full in the Proceedings). Incoming President David McClary gave his Presidential Acceptance Address (also published in the Proceedings).

Bovine Practitioner of the Year



Dr. Klingborg, (left) receiving the award from Dr. Larry Hollis, Syntex Animal Health.

Dr. Donald J. Klingborg, Merced, California was named the 1990 Bovine Practitioner of the Year. The Award was sponsored by Syntex Animal Health, Inc.

Dr. Klingborg received the D.V.M. from the University of California, Davis in 1972. He became a partner in and president of a seven person mixed practice in Central California. About 70% of his practice activities were focussed on dairy herd health work. He was one of the first practitioners to use computers in herd health programs. His contributions to local, state, national and international continuing education programs are exemplary. (Further information on Dr. Klingborg's biography was published in the Convention Proceedings p. xvii and xviii).

AABP Award of Excellence



Dr. Noel Laing, American Cyanamid Company, left, Dr. and Mrs. Erich Studer.

Dr. Erich Studer, Carnation, Washington received the AABP Award of Excellence.

He received the D.V.M. degree from the University of California-Davis in 1961. After 4 years in practice at Puyallup, WA. he became resident Veterinarian at Carnation Farms, WA. in 1965 and became Director of Veterinary services in 1979. He concentrated on research on Carnation's genetic breeding service. He has contributed numerous papers on reproductive topics and embryo transfer. Dr. Studer has represented District XI on the AABP Board of Directors.

AABP Distinguished Service Award



Dr. Keith Sterner with Dr. and Mrs. Hutchins.

Dr. Samuel Hutchins III, South Barre, Vermont was the recipient of the AABP Distinguished Service Award.

Dr. Hutchins received the D.V.M. degree from Connell University in 1958. He is one of a small cadre synonymous with AABP's annual meeting who has given outstanding service as Exhibits Manager for many years (Editor: and he is still serving in this capacity in 1999!) Dr. Hutchins served 2 terms on the AABP Board of Directors. (The Convention Proceedings has more complete biographies of the recipients; p. xii-xiv.)

AABP Preventive Medicine Awards

Beef Program Award



Dr. Gordon Atkins, Dr. and Mrs. Dayhle and Dr. Jay Brown

The MSD-AGVET Award for Excellence in Beef Cattle Preventive Medicine was presented to Dr. Charles E. Dayhle, Sr., Clarendon, Texas.

Dr. Dayhle was one of the first veterinarians in the Southwest to develop a complete herd health consulting service for the feedlot industry. He has published many papers on preventive medicine and presented seminars for over 400 groups in 25 states. Dr. Dayhle graduated from Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine in 1951 and established a practice in Clarendon, Texas.

Dairy Program Award



Dr. David McClary, Mrs. Turbock, Dr. Turbock and MSD-AGVET representative Dr. Jay Brown.

Dr. James Turbok, Deckerville, Michigan was presented the MSD-AGVET Dairy Award.

He received the D.V.M. degree from Michigan State University in 1957 and is a partner in a 95% multi-person dairy practice, serving over 250 herds. He is a well known teacher and motivator who has been engaged in his alma mater's student preceptor program. He has served on the Michigan VMA Food Animal Committee, dealing with model drug codes, drug residue issues and extra-label drug use, also involved in re-writing the Pasteurized Milk Ordinance and the Veal Calf Protection Program. (The Convention Proceedings have more information on the recipients' biographies and the awards.)























