1971 4th Annual Convention Denver, CO December 12–15

A Mile Tall in Mile High City

The Proceedings of the Annual Convention were published for the first time as a separate publication. In a *Foreword*, the Editor wrote:

"It is a distinct pleasure to present the Proceedings of the IVth Annual Convention of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners which was held in Denver, Colorado on December 12-15, 1971.

This event will always be remembered by those of us who were privileged to attend as the occasion when our fine Association stood a mile tall in the mile-high city."

Under the leadership of Dr. L. Mac Cropsey, General Chairman, the various committees prepared an excellent program.

Pre-convention tours included a ski weekend at Vail, a tour of the Surgical Metabolic Laboratory conducted by Dr. William Tietz, Dean of the Colorado State University School of Veterinary Medicine, visits to Monfort Beef Plant led by Dr. John Young and Paclamar Farms hosted by Dr. J.W. Harrison.

At the Opening Ceremony, Mr. William Farr, President, American National Cattlemen's Association, was the keynote speaker with a response by AVMA President-Elect Dr. W.E. Tucker.

The only special program for the Ladies was a Christmas Fashion Show so as to allow ample time for Christmas Shopping. Mrs. Marjory Cropsey was the Chair for Ladies Activities. The ladies also attended the Annual Banquet with Mr. Robert Gadberry, First National Bank, Wichita, Kansas, as guest speaker. Dr. Irwin J. Collinge presided over the annual business meeting immediately after the noon luncheon. Dr. Harold Amstutz now became Executive Secretary-Treasurer. Dr. Sam Hutchins, III, District One Director was the Exhibits Committee Chairman who later became Exhibits Director, a position which he still holds and has provided yeoman service to the AABP.

The elected officers for 1972 were:

President Dr. Francis Fox, Ithaca, NY

President-Elect Dr. Ben Harrington, Raleigh, NC Vice President Dr. L. Mac Cropsey, Denver, CO



Dr. James A. Jarrett



Dr. Leland C. Allenstein



Dr. Alphonse J. Kunkel



Dr. James O. Hanson



Dr. Frank K. Bracken

Exec. Sec./Treasurer Dr. Harold Amstutz, West Lafayette, IN

AVMA Delegate Dr. Maurice Weldy, Goshen, IN

Directors

District III Dr. James Jarrett, Rome, GA (re-elected)

District X Dr. Leland C. Allenstein,

District IX Dr. Lloyd Faulkner, Fort Collins, CO

District VI Dr. Joseph Sexton, Ames, IA



Dr. Joseph Sexton Dr. L



Dr. Lloyd Faulkner

President Collinge installed Dr. Francis Fox, President for 1972.

The President was authorized to appoint a protocol and liaison committee, also a Continuing Education Committee.

Over 150 veterinarians attended the 6th Annual Conference for AABP District 7 at the University of Missouri, Columbia, on August 31 - September 1. Dean B.W. Kingrey welcomed the participants. The program was focused on diseases of the gastrointestinal tract. Dr. Robert B. Miller, District 7 Director, was the program director. Dr. A.J. Koltveit was officially thanked for his advice and assistance to the AABP organization.



Dr. L. Mac Cropsey, General Chairman



Dr. Irwin J. Collinge,
President



Dr. Robert Miller



